Getting Creative!

I’ve mentioned before that I’m not a fan of heavy post processing. In my book, examples of these would be HDR, selective coloring, hipster, and other wacky gimmicky effects that have gotten popular in the recent years.

When heavy post-processing is done well…that’s a different story! I just adore Erik Johansson‘s works, they are mindbending, creative and very well done. I wish my own paltry skills were even as half good as his are!

Erik Johansson

Your challenge for this week:
Take an image that bends the reality a little. Easy stuff that doesn’t require high-end graphic skillz.
Levitating – there are oodles of how-to out there.
Clones – bonus points if they’re interacting with each others
Transformation – merge an organic (ie, a person) with an inorganic – eg a wall

Keep shooting!

4 thoughts on “Getting Creative!

  1. Hi, thanks for your comment on my blog. I really like yours! As for levitating, it sounds interesting, although I don’t have the right camera to try it. Maybe one day… 🙂

    1. What camera? I’ve heard of people doing levitations with pocket cameras and even camera phones.

      All you need is at least two shots: one of you sitting precariously on your prop – a chair, ladder, whatever you have handy – and then a second shot without you and your prop. Then in post processing, layer the version with you in it on top of the one without, and carefully mask out your prop. Voila! Levitating photo.

      If you don’t have photoshop, try Gimp, it’s a pretty good software and is free.

Comments are closed.