Self Portrait: Glamour

By Zombie Photography

I didn’t manage my time well this week. I wanted to do a levitation tutorial for today, but alas! Here’s a self portrait I took a few weeks ago instead.

Putting my bias aside (it is a great picture of me, I love it), it’s a good example of what you can achieve with an off-camera flash. It was positioned high and on camera-right, and shot through a white umbrella to diffuse the light. If you don’t have an umbrella, you can achieve a similar effect by using thin fabric, wax paper, tracing paper…whatever you have handy.

One comment

  1. Love it. Inspired, I want to do a similar style half lit black background shot of my son. I like the idea of something like this, with a lot of the colour stripped out but not totally monochrome.

    Mark

Comments are closed.