Seven Photography Resources

All I have to say today is: you can’t improve your photography without studying the craft. If you’re semi (or very) serious about photography, you can’t and shouldn’t rely on luck to get The Photograph.

Strobist.com – great place if you’re interested in off-camera lighting. Tons of tips, suggestions, DIY tutorials and even lessons

Framed Network – web shows. There are new episodes every week highlighting different aspects of photography

Phlearn.com – this is a fairly new web show I recently found; it seems pretty informative so far.

National Geographic – I am not a huge fan of most photography magazines because they’re in the business of selling, rather than educating. That said, National Geographic is a great resource. Not only do they have thousands of gorgeous images in which you can study the use of light, posing and other intrinsic elements, they also offer sound tips and advice from experienced photographers.

Digital Photography School – a blog very similar to this one, for the Intrepid Photographer.

DIY Photography – If you’d like to experiment with different accessories like grids, backdrops, softboxes, etc., without shelling out the big bucks, this site has several tutorials on how to make your own version inexpensively.

DPreview.com – While this isn’t really a photography educational resource (although they do have a few articles along those lines), it’s very useful when you’re in market for a new lens or camera. This is the place to go for honest, thorough reviews written by nonaffiliated testers.

Are there any others I should be aware of? Who do you like?

5 thoughts on “Seven Photography Resources

  1. Not to be naive but I think there is something to be said for “point and shoot” art-photography. To me art is subjective……cheers…..the Fotohack.

    1. I am not really clear where you got the impression that I was denouncing P&S and camera phones. I know a few successful photographers who use point-and-shoot cameras and camera phones, but they don’t rely on luck to get the images they desire.

      1. Fair enough I didn’t mean to imply any presonal bias of cameras on your part.

        To me photography is fantastically impulsive and personally subjective.

        Although I like kind of minimalist photography I still see the shot before I take it so in my case, I wouldn’t say luck has much to do with the process of creating art.

        Cheers…. The Hack.

  2. I appreciate this information. I live in a rural area that doesn’t have many options for studing photography. Can’t wait to get home and try these out. I love photography and dream of one day being a profressional photographer. Thanks again for the website information.

    1. I feel ya. I’m currently living in a tiny podunk town.

      I haven’t looked into this much, but there are a few photographers who hold classes online – in addition to the typical lectures, they have students upload their best picture taken that week, and the class critiques the pictures. You have to have a thick skin for that part, but it’s very helpful. Might be worth looking into. 🙂

Comments are closed.