Featured: Edda Onorato

Food photography is a tricky affair for most people. Which is surprising. I mean, it’s just food. It’s there. Easy, right?

Not so much. Your goal is to make the food, however ordinary, seem so romantic and tantalizing that you have to go get or make the same meal. Edda Onorato of Paris, France, is well on her way to mastering the art of food photography. For the past hour, I’ve been browsing through her pictures and found myself salivating and wondering if I could make the same meals at home. Mission accomplished, I’d say!

Edda Onorato
Edda Onorato

As I understand it, the tricks, among many, are to use natural, indirect light and a simple, clean background. Edda certainly used these two to good effect.

Edda Onorato
Edda Onorato

Every now and then, I take up a new project or three. This summer, it was landscape photography. I’m thinking food photography this winter.

My waistline will never be the same.

