Macros of a different sort

This week I’m having the opposite problem from my previous post – I’m writing. A lot. So what’s my problem now? I’ve been extremely unhappy with my images as of late. Part of it is I’m in a rut. I go to the beach on a daily basis and while I always take my camera, I rarely use it. I know the rest of the landlocked readers will gasp in collective horror: “She goes to the beach and doesn’t take pictures!”

Part of the issue, as I said, is I’m in a rut. I see the same landscape daily, and we’ve had stunningly good weather — which makes for boring pictures. I like landscapes with dramatic, billowy clouds. It adds interest to landscapes. Rarely do I genuinely like blank, blazing-blue skies in landscapes. Or in my particular case, washed-out-from-humidity barely-blue sky.

I plan on checking out different nearby spots this spring though. Last year, we had an extremely wet year, and that made road-tripping unappealing. But as long as this dry spell holds, we’ll be traveling a bit this May.

Anyway, out of frustration and out of desire to shoot something different, I took these yesterday…They are not mind-stunningly awesome, but I wanted to throw something up on this blog.

Taken with a cheap-o macro extension tube. There’s no Auto-focus, and the viewfinder is very dark; it’s a challenge to get perfect focus. I don’t usually flowers because it’s an overdone field, but because I wanted to actually shoot something, I tried to find plantlife that was a bit different.

Unripe Berries  – kinda in focus on the left side.

Zombie Photography
Zombie Photography

Didn’t get focus right, should redo.

Zombie Photography
Zombie Photography

Nailed it.

Zombie Photography
Zombie Photography

See? Closeup. Did not even have to sharpen this one.

Moss closeup
Zombie Photography

And I could never omit my sidekick.

Zombie Photography
Zombie Photography
One comment

  1. Yeah, The Rut — same happens to me pretty frequently lately, and I live in a similarly enviable locale. Getting to somewhere newer or just more interesting isn’t really possible usually, so I also turn to changing around the stuff attached to my camera, just to get a different view of the stuff I see every day.

Comments are closed.