A Taste of the Bygone Wild West

One thing first: WordPress’ analytics isn’t too detailed; apparently someone linked this blog on their Facebook and garnered me almost 500 views in two days. Thank you! Do it again!

My little town had its annual rodeo show this weekend, and I went on its second day. I spent most of the afternoon sitting on the ground with the camera poised between gaps in the fence to get the best of the action shots.

Zombie Photography
Zombie Photography
Zombie Photography
Zombie Photography

This guy was in charge of ushering the cows into chutes after each ride was done.

Zombie Photography
Zombie Photography

These cowboys would look so much better if they wore shirts that actually fit and weren’t…poofy. I guess they need room to move, but they make stretchy cotton blend shirts nowadays.

Zombie Photography
Zombie Photography

Tried to get this guy while he was looking serious, pensive and stern (and very rugged-cowboy-like – yummm) but he spotted me, blushed and grinned. Awww.

Zombie Photography
Zombie Photography

A vendor sold wacky-color cowboy hats and high-heeled rubber cowboy boots. High-heeled as in 3-inch heels (cowboy boots usually have only half inch or 1-inch heels). This kid really wanted both this hat and the ridiculous boots and was working her mom hard for them.

Zombie Photography
Zombie Photography
Zombie Photography
Zombie Photography
Zombie Photography
Zombie Photography

Ok, not exactly keeping within the theme, but she was damned cute.

Toddler baby in dress
Zombie Photography

Note my competitor in the background.

Zombie Photography
Zombie Photography

Apparently a person sitting on the ground is a magnet for toddlers. They kept coming up to hang out with me.

Zombie Photography
Zombie Photography

This bronco caught some serious air! I had a few other nice action shots of broncos, but there were too many distractions in the background. This was the best of the bunch.

Zombie Photography
Zombie Photography
Zombie Photography
Zombie Photography

I wanted to see more of the bucking broncos and bulls, but most of it was scheduled for Saturday, which I missed. Oops. I’m glad I went, though. It was good to photograph something different and work on my action photography skills.

What did you do this weekend? Something fun, I hope!

4 comments

    • Maybe I’m picky. That guy had NO ass. As a fellow flat-ass, I tend to prefer men whose butts aren’t concave. πŸ˜‰

Comments are closed.