Cowboy carrying western saddle rodeo

Rodeo – Before and After Edits

An acquaintance of mine emailed me and asked me if I’d be willing to post the before version of the rodeo images and share what I did to post-process them.

On this particular day, I wanted to play with shallow DOF, so I opted to use Aperture Priority instead of Shutter because it was a pretty bright overcast day and I knew i wouldn’t have much trouble with getting moderate to high shutter speed. However, because of the contrast in bright and dark (like the white fence), my in-camera meter kept getting confused, so to speak, and sometimes over or under-exposed trying to get 18% gray. In hindsight, I should’ve gone manual and dialed in my settings myself so that the images’ exposure wouldn’t be all over the map. Hindsight…

Anyway, here are three.

Before:

Zombie Photography
Zombie Photography

After:

Crop
Exposure boost with masking to selectively brighten certain areas further
Slight contrast boost
Sharpening

Man in cowboy hat, getting ready to mount horse rodeo
Zombie Photography

Before:

Zombie Photography
Zombie Photography

After:

Crop & straighten
Boost blacks slightly – I like contrasty, rich images and wanted a grittier feel to this one
WB correcting
Duotone image laid over original w/ masking, set to soft light and low opacity
Sharpening

Cowboy carrying western saddle rodeo
Zombie Photography

Before:

Zombie Photography
Zombie Photography

After:

Crop & straighten – wanted to bring the viewer in a little closer to the action
Slight exposure boost  to certain areas – like the mane and tail – to separate from the background
WB correction
Slight contrast boost
Sharpening

Cowboy on a Bucking Bronco - Rodeo
Zombie Photography
