Between Waves and Fog

I struggled with this set of images. My camera wanted to set the exposure to 18% grey, and as a result, all of my images came out rather flat looking.  The in-camera histogram looked fine at the time of the shoot, so I didn’t think to give the EV a boost.

That meant I needed to post-process these a bit more than the usual, which proved to be a little time-consuming. I’m not very experienced at tweaking foggy pictures because I haven’t had that much practice, so I tried a few different things until I found a look that made me happy and was close to what my eyes saw at the time. What do you think? Yea, nay?

photograph beach ocean cloud
Zombie Photographer
photograph beach ocean cloud
Zombie Photographer

I wish there was something in the foreground for the next two images. I feel like they lack as much interest as the previous two. Agree? Or do they work?

The light level in this looks a little weird – at that moment, sun was filtering through the fast-moving clouds in patches, and a result, this image feels off. Yet I kinda like it. So I decided to not correct it. Impending doom approaches.

photograph beach ocean cloud
Zombie Photographer
photograph beach ocean cloud
Zombie Photographer
3 comments

    • I find the LCD isn’t a good guide of how bright an image is. Barring extreme over/under exposures, mine tends to be difficult to view in sun, even on shady days. I need one of those blackout hood things that go over your head, but I’m not prepared to look that ridiculous.

Comments are closed.