dunes

Grassy dunes

Also known as “Why you shouldn’t photograph in stark winter midday sun.” You have to be a very deft photographer or photoshopper to create midday-sun images that look good. Most of the time, it’s not an issue for me because it’s usually overcast (aka photograph anytime!) here.

dunes
Zombie Photography

Generally you have a choice: expose for the ground, and have overexposed highlights – ie the clouds. Or expose for the sky and have underexposed ground. It’s tough to balance the two when you’re contending with such strong light. There are tricks, techniques and gadgets – a popular one for landscapes is the graduated ND filter. I didn’t have one with me this particular day, though.

So! I decided to embrace it. I rather like the results, though I’m not in love with the composition. Unfortunately, there isn’t any way for me to get higher, which would’ve solved some issues I have with this.

